Christchurch City Library  film  -   Press  &  Star  -    1875  -   January to December

Births   -   Marriages  -   Deaths    Funeral Notices  - 

Don't forget to use the  Edit  and  Find  to highlight a name on this page

Home page:   http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~ashleigh

email:   transcriptions@ihug.co.nz
for a copy,   quote, name, date and the number of the snippet.

JANUARY 
Saturday 2 January 1875
Death    - 001
SMITH
  - James Morrice,  on 1 January,   at Armagh St. Christchurch,   age 35

Funeral Notice -   002
SMITH
   -    late M.J.M.Smith's  funeral will leave his res. at Armagh St. West. for Church of England Cemetery

Funeral Notice  -  009
MESSITER  -  wife  of Mr G. Messiter,  take place this Wednesday afternoon   -------


Monday 18 January  1875  

Death    -  023
BOWEN
  - Isabella,  on 16th at Newtown, near Christchurch,  beloved dau. of Stephen & Margaret Bowen. age 6 yrs.


Thursday 21 January 1875
Funeral Notice  -  030
CHAPMAN - Louisa Theresa,  wife of Capt. W.Chapman,  to leave his res. Oxford st, Lytttelton,  tomorrow,  22 January  at 4pm.


Saturday 23 January  1875
Funeral Notice  -  043
BONN -  Hector Armour Bonn,  funeral will leave his res.  Colombo st South  on Sunday 24th  at 3pm.


Monday 25 January 1875
Funeral Notice -  051
HAWKINS -  Fanny,  daughter of Mr Samuel Hawkins,  to leave his res. Cambridge Tce,  tomorrow (Tuesday) at 2 o'clock.


Wednesday 27 January 1875
Funeral Notice -  059
THIN  -  Agnes Spence,  wife of Mr James Thin,  will leave Mr Hunter's res. Whately rd,  at half past 12pm on Thursday 28th.


FEBRUARY  
Monday 1 February 1875
Death -  001
SHARPLES
-    on Jan. 30 at Salisbury House, Whately Road, Rose Margaret,  infant  daughter of Henry & Elizabeth Sharples,  age 3 weeks

Funeral Notices  -  005
KIDDEY -  infant daughter of Captain Kiddey  -- leave his res. Empire Hotel,  Lyttelton, tomorrow 2 Feb at 3pm.
HOFT - Josephine,  daughter of Mr Hoft  -- leave his res. at 3 0'clock tomorrow Tuesday afternoon.


Monday 8 February 1875

Death   -  019
DENNIS
-  on 7 Feb. at Brenchley Farm, Lyttelton, George Dennis, age 21.

Funeral Notice  -  018
DENNIS -  George,  son of Mr Dennism will leave his res. Brenchley Farm  at 5-30pm tomorrow.


Tuesday 9 February 1875
Funeral Notice -  023
CLARK - Jane,  wife of Mr James Clark,  will leave his res.  Peterborough st,  at half past one o'clock, on Wed. 10 February.


Friday 12 February  1875
Funeral Notice  -  037
GOURLAY -  Mary Jane,  daughter of Mrs Gourlay  and the late Mr Wm Gourlay  leave res. St Asaph st,  west at 3pm  on Sunday 14th.


Saturday 13 February 1875

Birth  -  043
BIGWOOD -  on 10 Feb at her residence, Lincoln rd,  to wife of John Bigwood  - a daughter.

Death -  041
BIGWOOD 
- 12 Feb. infant. daughter of John & Elizabeth Bigwood.


Monday 22 February 1875
Birth -  058
TERRY 
- 21 Feb. at Sumner, wife of late G.W.Terry -  a daughter.


Tuesday 23 February 1875

Death -   060
CHAPMAN 
-   22 Feb. Winchester St. Lyttelton,   Mrs Thurza Chapman,   age 56.


Saturday 27 February 1875
Funeral Notice -  066
WATKINS -  Charles,  will leave his res. Madras st, south, Waltham on Sunday 28 Feb at half past 3 o'clock.



MARCH
Thursday 4 March  1875
Funeral Notice  -  070
THOMAS - 
Alfred Herbert,  infant son of Mr Chas. Thomas,  will leave East town belt,  Friday at 3pm.


Friday 5 March  1875
Funeral Notice  -  072
ROSS -  Johnny,  --- will leave Mr Robert Russell's White Swan Hotel,  on Sunday at 3pm

Sunday   19 March 1875

Funeral Notice -    073
DUNLOP  -   Mr. David Dunlop invites friends to funeral of his late son Francis George Duncan of Polgrave Farm, St. Albans


Saturday 27 March 1875
Funeral Notice  -    074
DOBBS  -  A.A.    Canterbury Lodge 1048  E.C.   on Sunday the 28th  at 2pm,  full Masonic Mourning costume -----


APRIL
Tuesday 6 April 1875
Birth    -  010   
SHEPHERD
- 17 February to Mrs June Shepherd of Salts Gully, Lyttelton, a son


Thursday 8 April 1875

Birth   -  016
ROBERTS
- 6 April at Bank of NZ Ashburton, to wife of Albert Roberts, a dau.

Death   -
CROWE 
-   Kilmore st., Ernest Edward, infant son of William & Sophie Crowe age 8mths


Tuesday 13 April 1875
Funeral Notice  -  022
TUERSLEY -    wife of Thomas,  to leave his res. Oxford tce west  on Wednesday at 2o'clock.


Saturday 17 April 1875
Funeral Notice -  030
BUGG -  wife of Samuel  will leave his res. cnr St Asaph and Durham st,  at 3 o'clock, Sunday.


Monday 19 April 1875
Death  -  033
CROWE -  on 16 April at Kilmore st,  Ernest Edward,  infant son of William and Sophia Crowe,  aged 8mths.


MAY
Tuesday 4 May 1875
Death  -  005
SMITH - 
on 2 May at Madras st, north,  Mr Thos. Smith,  printer,  age 37 years

Funeral Notice   -  005a
SMITH 
-  Mr Thomas  of Madras St. North,


Thursday 6 May 1875
Marriage  -  008
TURNER - SHEPHERD -  on 5th  ---- Charles B.Turner,  Colombo st,  to  Annie Shepherd, late of Hobartown,  Tasmania.

Death  -  008
WALCOT  -  on 5 May at Cambridge tce east,  aged 10 years,  Ralph Bernard,  2nd son of  R.B. and H.N.Walcot.


Friday 7 May 1875
Birth  -  009
COWPER -  on 2 May at St Albans  to   Mrs Henry Cowper -  a daughter


Saturday 15 May 1875
Death    -  023
BUCKMAN
- 15 May at Cambridge Terrace , Mary Buckman,  aged 70 years.


Tuesday 18 May 1875
Marriage -  030
WHITCOMBE - HALL - on 18 May at -----   George Hawkes, youngest son of Capt. T.Douglas Whitcombe B.A. K.S.G. of Plougenant, France to
                                        Marian,  2nd dau of John Hall, Esq.  of London.


JUNE
Friday 4 June 1875
Death   - 008
BRIGGS
- on 3rd June at Barbadoes St. George 2nd son & youngest child of Charles Edwin & Annie Briggs age 2yrs

Funeral Notice  -  008a
BRIGGS -  late son George   leave his res. Barbadoes st  at 3pm  tomorrow Saturday afternoon.


Friday 11 June 1875
Funeral Notices  -  023
SYMS  -  Ernest Everard,  son of Mr W. Syms, to leave his res. Colombo st south at 2 o'clock  on Saturday 12 June.
WATTS  -  late wife,  leave his res. Tuam st, west,  on Sunday at 2 o'clock.


Saturday 12 June 1875
Funeral Notice  -  026
CHARLESWORTH  -  Captain  to leave his res.  for the Heathcote Cemetery (now called the Woolston Cemetery) tomorrow aft. at 3 o'clock


Monday 28 June 1875
Funeral Notice  -  037
SMITH  -  Edward  --  late of the old Stanmore road,  his funeral will leave the Hospital tomorrow at 3pm.


JULY
Thursday 2 July 1875
Birth  -  002
BIRD  - 
on 2 July at Bellevue,  Papanui rd,  to Mrs G. Bird  -  a son.

Tuesday 6 July 1875

Death   -   006
SMALL
- on 5 July at his res. Salisbury Street,   James Small,  age 57 years.

Funeral  -  005
McDONALD  -  William,  son of Mr J.McDonald,  leavehis res. London st,  Lyttelton,  at 2-30pm on Wednesday  7 July.


Saturday 10 July 1875

Funeral Notices   -   009
BROOKS  -  Eliza ----
   funeral of late wife Eliza Catherine   hus.  Mr. J.H. Brooks    will leave from his res.   Montreal St. at half past 2 on Sunday 11 July.
MOHR  -    Hannah Elizabeth, daughter  of Mr John Mohr,  will leave his res. Waltham,  near Pound Road. tomorrow Sunday at 2 o'clock.


Thursday 22 July 1875

Funeral Notice    -  017
WALKER
   -    Mr. James,    funeral will leave his  res. Tuam St. West tomorrow Friday at 3 o'clock pm.


Saturday 24 July 1875

Funeral Notices    -  019
CLARKE
  -   Robert, funeral will leave his res. Cashel St. East at 2 o'clock on Sunday 25 July.
LUCAS -    Mr William   funeral will leave his res. Salts Gully  tomorrow  Sunday  at 2-45pm.


AUGUST
Saturday 7 August 1875
Birth    -  013
PIERCY
- on 6 August at Colombo St. to wife of George Piercy -  a son


Tuesday 10 August 1875
Death  -  017
MACLAINE  -  on 10 August,  at Lochbury,  Adelaide,  daughter of Alex and Marion Maclaine,   aged 4 years.


Thursday 12 August

Birth   - 019
COTTON  
- on 12 August at Lyttelton,  to wife of Robert Cotton  -  a son.


Saturday 14 August 1875

Funeral Notice  - 023
HOOPER
    -   son of Mr James Hooper,    funeral of his late son  to leave his  res. Waltham, on Sunday at a quarter before 2 o'clock


Saturday 21 August 1875

Funeral Notice    -  029
PARSONS
    -  wife  of   Mr. Frederick Edwin    funeral to leave his  res. Montreal St. South, tomorrow at a quarter past 2 o'clock


Thursday 26 August 1875

Funeral Notice    -
WILSON  
- Mr John  May      funeral   will leave from Christchurch Hosp. tomorrow Friday at a quarter past 2 o'clock.


Friday 27 August 1875

Birth -  039
MACLAINE
-   on 27 August at North Town Belt, Chch,   to wife of Alexander Maclaine esq. of Lochbuy  - a son



SEPTEMBER
Thursday 2 September 1875
Funeral Notice   - 001
HALL
-   Mr. John,  funeral to leave his residence  Harper St. South, tomorrow Friday at half past 3 o'clock


Friday 3 September 1875

Birth   - 006
MACKAY 
- 2nd September at Dampiers Bay, Lyttelton to wife of George Mackay  -  a daughter.


Saturday 11 September 1875

Death  -   014
FOOKS
  - on 11 September at his residence,   Peterborough St. Christchurch,  C.B.Fooks,  age 71 years.

Funeral Notice  -  016
SCOTT  -  George,  snr. leaves his res. Royal Oak Hotel, Canterbury St, Lyttelton,  tomorrow at 3pm.


Thursday 16 September 1875

Death - 020a
MURRAY
-   William,  on 16 September at London St. Lyttelton, age 33 years.


Friday  17 September 1875

Funeral Notice   -  021
MURRAY  -  
Mr. William,  his funeral will leave his res. London st,  Lyttelton,  on Saturday Sept. 18  at 2pm.


Thursday 23 September 1875

Birth  - 027
BLACK
-  at Salisbury St. on 22 September  to  wife of Mr. Neil Black  -   a daughter.


Friday 24 September 1875

Death   - 029
HACK
- Sarah Ann,  at her residence,  Harewood Road, Papanui, on 23 September, beloved  daughter. of E. Hack age 4yrs



OCTOBER
Thursday 7 October 1875
Funeral -  008
CARROLL -
Bro. M. Jno. Lodge of Unanimity,  No 604,  E.C.   funeral will leave Sunday next 10 October at 2-30pm


Friday 8 October 1875
Funeral - 009
KERR  -  Bro. John,  Loyal City of Christchurch Lodge,  No 4602,  M.U. I.O.O.F. funeral on Sunday 10 October at 2pm 


Thursday 14 October 1875
Birth - 015
HILL - 14 October at Bingsland,   to wife of H.T.Hill   -  a daughter.
GEE - 14 October at Gloucester St. East,  to Mrs Alfred Gee  -  son


Saturday 16 October 1875
Funeral -  019
GREEN -  Wm.  his funeral will leave H.P.Lance, Esq res. Ohoka,  tomorrow Sunday  at 3-45pm  for the Riccarton Cemetery.


Wednesday 25 October 1875
Death  -  033
PAASCHE  -  on 25 October at res. of Mrs Peez, Belle Vue, Villa, Armagh st,  Hans Rue Paasche,  late of Bergen, Norway,  aged 33 years.


Thursday 26 October 1875

Death  - 036
ROUSE
- at Folkstone, Kent England in her  85th year. Ann Harvey Rouse,  relict of late Lieut. Rouse, R.N. mother of Mr. A.W. Rouse of H.M. Customs.



NOVEMBER
Wednesday 10 November 1875
Death   - 010
GORDON
- 8 November at Springfield Road, Christchurch,. George Gordon,   age 52.


Friday 12 November 1875
Funeral Notice - 015
BAIN - James,  son of Mr J.Bain,  funeral will leave his res. Norwich Quay, Lyttelton,  Saturday at 3pm.


Saturday 20 November 1875

Death   - 024
BADDEN
- on 22 November at Papanui Road, Christchurch, James age 4

Funeral Notice  - 025
DALTON - Mary,  daughter of Thomas,  funeral to leave his res. Moa Place, Madras st, north,  at 2 o'clock,  tomorrow.



DECEMBER
Wednesday 1 December 1875
Funeral Notice - 001
ANDREWS -
Edwin,  son of Captain Frederick Andrews,   funeral to leave his res. Winchester st, Lyttelton,  tomorrow Thursday  at 4 o'clock.


Friday 3 December 1875
Funeral Notice -  006
MANGIN - Thomas,   funeral will leave his res.  Stanmore rd, Bingsland,  at 1 o'clock,  Saturday 4 December.


Saturday 11 December 1875
Funeral Notice  -  020
HADLEY -
Joshua,  funeral will leave his res. at New Brighton  at 2 o'clock  arriving at the Weslyan Cemetery  at half past 3 o'clock  on Monday

Birth   - 021
REEVES
- on 10 December at St.Stephens Native  Schoolhouse, Kaiapoi,  to wife of Mr H.J.Reeves  -  a son


Tuesday 14 December 1875
Funeral Notice  -  026
BOWNTALL -  Bro. James,  of Court Star of Cornwall No 3727, England  who had lately arrived in the Province.  funeral Wed. Dec. 16th at 2pm.


Wednesday 15 December 1875

Death   - 028
DRAYTON   -
on 15 December,  at Riccarton,  George Wilkinson Drayton,  aged  40


Wednesday 22 December 1875
Funeral Notice  -  033
SHARP -  Bro. E.  of the Loyal Volunteer Lodge  ------  on Thursday 23 Dec, at 2pm    to the English Cemetery


Tuesday 28 December 1875
Funeral Notice  -  042
TAYLOR -  Mrs Charlotte B.   funeral will leave her res. St David's st, Lyttelton,  on Wed. 29 Dec.  at 3-45pm  for the Church of England Cemetery


Thursday 30 December 1875

Death - 049
HILLIER
-  on 30 Dec. at Lyttelton, George Francis Scott,  youngest son of William & Mary Jane Hillier,  age 7mths

Beverley Evans
Christchurch  NZ
29 October 2003

Home page:   http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~ashleigh
email:   transcriptions@ihug.co.nz


http://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/cgi-bin/paperspast
http://bdmhistoricalrecords.identityservices.govt.nz/home/
http://librarydata.christchurch.org.nz/Cemeteries/
http://archway.archives.govt.nz/
http://www.oldnewsbios.co.nz/search.php
http://muse.aucklandmuseum.com/databases/general/basicsearch.aspx?dataset=Cenotaph